Tip #150: Forms close after assigning records

After your organization is updated to SP1/Spring ’14 CRM Online update, you may notice a change in behavior when you assign records. Now, if you click the “assign” button on the form and assign to a different user or team, the form will close after you assign the record.

If you don’t want the form to close after assigning records, reassign the records via the “owner” lookup field instead of using the “assign” button.

Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Facebook0Share on Google+0

5 thoughts on “Tip #150: Forms close after assigning records

  1. Peter Hale says:

    This workaround will obviously affect any workflows or such triggered by an “assign” ???

    • Joel Lindstrom says:

      not really, both the assign button and the owner lookup do the same thing, and your workflow will still run on assign either way.

  2. L-A Filiatrault says:

    I can’t seem to find anything in the SP1 notes explaining this change.
    Our project required that the Owner field be read-only to force the initial owner of a case be the creator for workflow and security rule purposes.
    Then the user uses the Assign button if he wishes to reassign to another user or team.
    This change of behavior is a pain to deal with.
    Any ideas why this change was done?
    Thanks

    • Joel Lindstrom says:

      It’s not in the documentation. it was done to prevent the situation where somebody assigns a record to somebody else and then no longer has permissions to view it and gets an error message.

  3. Michel Giroux says:

    This change of behavior is a pain for us too. Our users do not have the Write privilege on Lead . And as the Owner field is a system fields, we cannot use the Field Level security funtion. I’m sure there were other higher prioritiy improvements made to the system than this one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *